Biosphere Reserves Of India

Biosphere reserve network was launched in India on 1971 by UNESCO. It is an international designation by ‘UNESCO’ (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) for representative parts of natural and cultural landscapes extending over large areas of terrestrial or coastal/marine ecosystems or a combination of both. Under this Protection is granted not only to the flora and fauna of the protected region, but also to the human communities who inhabit these regions, and their ways of life. In India there are 18 biosphere reserves have. Nilgiri was the first to be included. And Khangchendzonga was added under Man and Biosphere Reserve Program in 2018.

The Biosphere Reserves In India are,

  1. Achanakmar-AmarkantakMadhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh.
  2. AgasthyamalaKarnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala.
  3. Cold DesertHimachal Pradesh.
  4. Dehang-DebangArunachal Pradesh.
  5. Dibru-SaikhowaAssam.
  6. Great NicobarAndaman & Nicobar Island.
  7. Gulf of MannarTamil Nadu.
  8. KachchhGujarat.
  9. KhangchendzongaSikkim.
  10. ManasAssam.
  11. Nanda DeviUttrakhand.
  12. Nilgiri Tamil Nadu, Kerala.
  13. NokrekMeghalaya.
  14. Pachmarhi Madhya Pradesh.
  15. PannaMadhya Pradesh.
  16. Seshachalam Andhra Pradesh.
  17. SimilipalOdisha.
  18. SundarbanWest Bengal.

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *